2023: SWAGA storms Lagos, enlists Badagry monarchs for Tinubu

2023: SWAGA storms Lagos, enlists Badagry monarchs for Tinubu

As the race for the 2023 general elections gathers momentum, the Badagry Division’s monarchs in Lagos State have endorsed the candidature of the All Progressives Congress (APC) leader, Chief Bola Tinubu.

Political parties generally have begun to shop for candidates with wide acceptance and reach to jostle for the presidential seat.

The traditional rulers made the pronouncement at a townhall meeting organised by the South-West Agenda (SWAGA’23) on Sunday.

They described Tinubu, a former Lagos State governor, as the best candidate to succeed President Muhammadu Buhari.

The monarchs who unanimously gave their blessings and support include: Oba Momodu Afolabi, Onijanikin of Ijanikin; Oba Nofiu Dada Elete of Ete Kingdom; Oba Abideen Adekanbi, Osolu of Osolu Kingdom; Oba Mobadenle Oyekan Onilado of Ilado; Oba Caleb Adeniyi, Olojo of Ojo, and Oba N. A. Akinyemi, Alabirun of Ikare Kingdom.

Others are: Oba Taofik Adegboyega, Alahun of Imore Apapa; Oba Gausu Rasak Ovaria of Ibeshe; Oba Kasumu Kosoko, Elekunpa of Ekunpa Kingdom; Oba Musiliu Adio Yussuf, Onisiwo of Tarkwa Bay; Oba Olayinka Lateef, Alado of Ado Kingdom.

The rest include Oba Adesina Asade; Oniba Ekun of Iba Kingdom; Oba Sherif Adesina Bello Onigbanko of Igbanko Kingdom, and Oba Josiah Ilemobade Aina, Oloto of Oto Kingdom.

SWAGA’23 National Chairman, Senator Dayo Adeyeye, thanked the traditional leaders for the endorsement.

He noted that the Buhari administration will end in May 2023 and it would be fair that the presidency is zoned to South-West.

“It is widely known that Bola Ahmed Tinubu’s philanthropic gestures is second to none. He equally fought for Nigeria’s democracy and performed brilliantly as a governor.

The group (SWAGA) in furtherance of the propagation of its message across the zone came to Lagos on Sunday to enlist more stakeholders in the team of those calling on Sen. Bola Ahmed Tinubu to contest the 2023 presidential election.

It will be recalled that other notable traditional rulers in South West had earlier given their blessings for the success of the group, paramount amongst whom are, the Ooni of Ife, Alaafin of Oyo, Olubadan of Ibadan, Alake of Egba, Olu of Ilaro, Akarigbo of Remo, Ataoja of Osogbo, Deji of Akure, Oluwo of Iwo, Osemawe of Ondo, Olukare of Ikare had received the group and supported the call for Asiwaju Bola Ahmed Tinubu to contest the 2023 Presidential election.

Members of the SWAGA Central Working Committee includes, Deputy Chairman Sen. Soji Akanbi, Sen. Gbenga Obadara, Sen Tony Adeniyi, Hon. Monsuru Alao, Hon. Abiodun Akinlade, Hon.Mrs Ayo Omidiran, Hon. Oyetunde Ojo, Hon. Rotimi Makinde, Hon. Ifedayo Abegunde and Apostle Oloruntoba Oke.

Others are Mr Kola Peregrino,Hon Ganiyu Dauda, Mrs Kafilat Agbara and Hon. Bosun Oladele the Secretary-General, all who are busy making efforts to ensure hitch-free projection of the targeted goals.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *