INEC creates additional 56,872 polling units

INEC creates additional 56,872 polling units

Independent National Electoral Commission, on Wednesday, announced the creation of additional 56, 872 polling units across the country.

INEC Chairman, Prof. Mahmood Yakubu, stated this at a meeting with Resident Electoral Commissioners.

He said Nigeria now has a total of 176, 846 Polling Units from the initial 119, 973 following the conversion of voting points and voting points settlement to full-fledged Polling Units.

Yakubu also stated that the commission had removed 749 Polling Units from inappropriate facilities, with nine of them from shrines and several others from religious houses, royal palaces and private property.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *