Twitter ban: FG invites U.S, UK envoys, others for a meeting

The Federal Government has invited the envoys of the United States, United Kingdom, Canada, and the European Union in Nigeria to a meeting over their recent reactions to the suspension of the use of Twitter in Nigeria.

In a press invitation issued on Monday morning by the Crisis Monitoring and Public Communications Division of the Nigerian Ministry of Foreign Affairs, and signed by Kimiebi Ebienfa said:

I am directed to inform that following the recent ban on Twitter by the Federal Government and Press Statement issued by some Heads of Diplomatic Missions Accredited to Nigeria on the subject matter, the Honourable Minister of Foreign Affairs, His Excellency, Geoffrey Onyeama has invited the affected Ambassadors to a meeting today at 12 noon,” the invitation read.

On Saturday in a joint statement, the EU, UK, U.S, Canada and the Republic of Ireland said banning systems of expression is not the way forward.
The statement was titled, ‘Joint Statement From The Diplomatic Missions Of Canada, The European Union (Delegation To Nigeria), The Republic Of Ireland, The United Kingdom And The United States Of America’.

It read, “The diplomatic missions of Canada, the European Union (Delegation to Nigeria), the Republic of Ireland, the United Kingdom and the United States of America convey our disappointment over the Government of Nigeria’s announcement suspending #Twitter and proposing registration requirements for other social media

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *